Old Leanach Cottage in Scotland is believed to be only remaining building from Culloden Battlefield in 1746.
On 16 April 1746, the final Jacobite Rising came to a brutal head.
Jacobite supporters, seeking to restore the Stuart monarchy to the British thrones, gathered to fight the Duke of Cumberland’s government troops.
It was the last pitched battle on British soil and, in less than an hour, around 1,500 men were slain – more than 1,000 of them Jacobites.
The richly researched, stimulating and sensitive Culloden Visitor Centre, which stands beside the battlefield, features artefacts from both sides of the battle and interactive displays that reveal the background to the conflict.
It stands as a monument and a guide to a pivotal day in history.
Here, you can discover how a bloody fight that lasted only an hour changed life in the Highlands
During the battle, a similar cottage once stood on this spot and it served as a field hospital for Government soldiers.
Thatching on the cottage is made from heather that was collected from the battlefield, whilst the walls are a mixture of stone and turf.
Over time, the cottage has seen many changes.
After falling into disrepair, Leanach Cottage was rebuilt in the early 19th century.
The cottage became a symbol for the battlefield, and the people who lived there became the site’s first tour guides.
The cottage’s last resident, Mrs Annabelle Cameron moved out in 1912 and the cottage stood empty.
In 1944, Leanach Cottage was given to the National Trust for Scotland by Hector Forbes, the landowner.
In the early 1960s, the cottage became the first ‘museum’ at Culloden Battlefield.
In 1970, a new visitor centre opened beside Leanach Cottage, later became a ‘Living History experience’ with costumed interpretation and presentations.
The only other home on the battlefield was a cottage built in 1925 – the daffodils that were in its garden still bloom each spring.
At other points, there was a tearoom and even a petrol station. These buildings are no longer there.
Today, Leanach Cottage houses temporary exhibitions relating to the battlefield.
These exhibitions cover current research including new archaeological discoveries, people’s connection to the battlefield and the threats to the battlefield in modern times.
Thatching on the cottage is made from heather that was collected from the battlefield and then crafted together by local tradesmen, whilst the walls are a mixture of stone and turf.
Someone who recently visited the cottage wrote on TripAdvisor: “A must stop – one cannot grasp Scotland and make the connection between thousands of years of history and the modern times without making a stop at Culloden.
”Here is the fork in the road that defined history for the Scots, as they were bravely defeated by the English.